Makeshift College Cooking Part 2

Now I am no expert in the kitchen but I think my creativity does help me out a lot to make people think otherwise. Sometimes you just have to the best you can with what ya get, in and out of the kitchen. Half the time when I makeshift these interesting meals is also because I don’t want food to go bad!

This brought me to my own version of fried rice. Although I wanted the real thing, I grossly underestimated how long it takes to make rice, yeah a whole 30 minutes, and I didn’t have that kind of time. But I did have a ton of quinoa left over from a mass quinoa production that I had had the week before, and also had eggs left from pre practice banana bread that I make each week. I always have spinach left from, just my life. (I love spinach and it goes with nearly anything!)

I also found an easy way to make scrambled eggs that involve far fewer dishes. All you have to do isFriedRice slightly oil/grease, I use Pam, the inside of a mug or some other microwave safe cup; then you crack your eggs inside and microwave on medium for 1:30. Sometimes you need a little more time or a little less but ti will usually puff up, and then I just take it out and fluff them and break down the big puff with a fork. After this, it is really just became a modge-podge dish. Heating up all your favorite things and throwing them in a bowl together. This particular time I had spinach, chicken (drained from the can), eggs, carrots, chickpeas and qunoia all together. Then I top it all off with olive oil, salt and pepper (my absolutely favorite ‘dressing’). Sometimes the best versions of dishes are the ones where you make them your own! One of my favorite things about mode-podge meals is that it helps motivate me to only keep healthy foods in the cupboards. The more healthy foods and options you have a the hand the less yo have to stress about tailoring what you are making! Happy cooking 🙂

2 thoughts on “Makeshift College Cooking Part 2

Leave a Reply

