So Obsessed Saturday: Chocolate Chip Cookies

I also have the greatest cookie mug in the entire world.

It’s Nemo from Finding Nemo. (be jealous)

It's Nemo from Finding Nemo.

I also have the greatest cookie mug in the entire world.

This post is happening for many reasons. Well to start off I gave up sweets for the 40 days of lent. Now that I am home I find it only right that I get to make my absolute favorite homemade chocolate chip cookies. Which brings me to my other reason. I love working out and I love being healthy, but whats really healthy is balance. It is so important not to deprive yourself of things just because they aren’t the best things in the world for you. It’s hard to be successful in being healthy if you don’t let yourself have a cheat every once in a while. Cookies are good for the soul. And not only do I love to eat these but I also love to bake them, or really anything (I love baking).

My cookie baking obsession began with two of my life long best friends as we would bake cookies AT LEAST once a week in the Summer together. However now that we are away at school, it is our bonding activity when we come back, jut bake cookies together. My friendship with these girls has grown so far as to the point that I can literally walk into either of their houses and just raid the cookie jar without them even being home and such behavior will be construed as normal. So I guess you could say chocolate chip cookies are more than just cookies, they’re our greatest sign of friendship.

Screen Shot 2015-04-04 at 10.14.17 AM

So here I have decided to share with you my all time favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. I hope you enjoy it and love it as much as I do!

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted (secret: melt it all the way) 
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Grease your cookie sheet or cover it with parchment paper (I have this super cool one that doesn’t need to be so if you don’t have one totally get one (: )
  2. Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, cream together the melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended. Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and creamy. Mix in the sifted ingredients until just blended. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand using a wooden spoon. Drop cookie dough 1/4 cup at a time onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about 3 inches apart. (Sometimes I make the cookies smaller because then you get more, they last longer then haha)
  4. Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.
  5. Put your phone away and enjoy with close friends and a cold glass of milk.
9 thoughts on “So Obsessed Saturday: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

