So Obsessed Saturday: Pancakes

Here in Olean, New York, there isn’t always much to do. However, like in any little city there are little gems throughout the town, and today I got to experience one of the best: Sprague’s Maple Farm. This place is just any breakfast lovers dream, because their breakfast is off the chain (and I don’t use that phrase loosely, so you know this is the real deal!)

What makes this even greater is that I love pancakes,as in the path to my heart is paved with pancakes.

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 11.51.24 AM

Any time you order pancakes you automatically get an unlimited amount with your meal, which is quite sly on their part because it sounds so great – but you never have room in your belly fore more! So today I made a deal with myself that I would beat the house at their own game, and get an extra order of pancakes.

And that is what I did – because I am not a quitter. MY first order was three pancakes the size of my head, 2 homemade sausage patties (omg so yum), a plate of hash browns (also my favorite), and 2 scrambled eggs. the first set of pancakes I got where buttermilk and then on my second round I got 2 apple cinnamon pancake. And ladies and gentlemen that brings my grand total up to 5 head sized pancakes. So to say that right now I have a food baby would be an understatement, because it is more like twins.

photo 1photo 2

I don’t regret my over indulgent decision because it is nice to treat yourself, and being a college kid a great ‘home made’ meal is something that can’t be compared to. Thats why I love pancakes os much because to me they are a little piece of home. Over the summer I went through a huge pancake phase, where I would come home from work and my mom would be supermom and make me pancakes at 9 at night. Therefore they are my go to comfort food. The best is when the center gets a little soggy from the butter because it is melted, and there is maple syrup dribbled on top ( I used to strictly be a chocolate chip girl, but now I’m ‘mature’ …hardly)

Also being away from home, it is always nice to go out with your closest friends and enjoy a good hearty meal. That, to me, is one of the simplest perks of life, a meal. To really enjoy not only the food but the company that you keep. Although it is not the same as being at home, comfort food anywhere brings you just that: comfort, and the people around you who care can bring you that too!

So there you have it, a little obsession and a little heart and soul on this saturday! Let me know what your comfort food is below!

2 thoughts on “So Obsessed Saturday: Pancakes

Leave a Reply

